Guidelines for the Sherwood Student Poster Awards

Prepared for the Sherwood Executive Committee (hereafter “Executive Committee”) by the Student Award Guideline Committee (hereafter “Guideline Committee”), formed by L. Chacón, A. N. Simakov in March 2010.

The Guideline Committee has been charged with the task of preparing guidelines in regards to four different aspects of the Sherwood Student Award (hereafter “Award”):
  1. Official eligibility criteria
  2. Selection of Award Committee
  3. Awarding guidelines
  4. Name of Award

Official student eligibility criteria

For a student to be eligible to receive the Award, all of the following requirements must be met:
  • The student must attend the corresponding Annual International Sherwood Fusion Theory Conference (hereafter, the “conference”).
  • Only posters are eligible. Student invited talks are not eligible to receive the Award.
  • The same student cannot receive the Award more than once.
  • The student must be enrolled in an academic institution on January 1st (i.e, students graduating after January 1st
  • The student must be first author of the poster.

Selection of Sherwood Student Award Committee

The selection of members of the Sherwood Student Award Committee (hereafter “Award Committee”) must follow the 
following guidelines:

  • The Chair of the Program Committee will chair the Award Committee.
  • The Award Committee must not exceed six members, including the Chair. The Chair among the members of the  Program Committee should select members. If not enough Program Committee members are available for the Award Committee, the Chair may select Award Committee members from outside of the Program Committee.

Awarding guidelines

  • The number of Awards available will generally depend on available funding, and will be indicated to the Award Committee by the Chair of the Executive Committee prior to the Conference.
  • Only the Award Committee will select poster awards, preferably by unanimity. In situations where unanimity cannot be reached, and at the discretion of the Chair of the Award Committee, a simple majority will suffice to break deadlock.
  • At least two of Award Committee members must attend the student's poster presentation at the meeting before the selection by vote.
  • The Chair of the Award Committee will present award to the students during the banquet.

Name of Award

The Guideline Committee prefers an unnamed Award, such as “Sherwood Student Poster Award.” It has been suggested  to the Guideline Committee that the Award be named after Lyman Spitzer. We leave this aspect for proposal and further discussion among members of the Executive Committee.